Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Once again I have Janetha over at mealsandmovesblog to thank for this recipe.  I’ve modified it a bit but it’s quite tasty.  I think I’m getting the hang of what foods to eat on this challenge and how to combine them.  If you haven’t heard yet, I’m doing the 12 week Body for Life challenge.  12 weeks of clean eating and exercising!! What happens after the 12 week challenge is over you might ask?  Well by then I will have started some new habits and will continue on this path.  I am actually enjoying myself and have noticed a few changes in my body overall.  I’ve dropped a few pounds too! The one thing that has kept me on track is that one day a week I can eat whatever I want….anything in any amounts!  What I’ve found though is that the further into the challenge (I’m starting week 6), the less I really want any super-sweet things to eat. My so called cheat days are actually pretty boring lately.

On to the meal!  This is a casserole with lots of tasty things in it and with Mexican flavorings.  I wouldn’t call it too authentic though!

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of ground turkey (or chicken)
  • about a cup or more of brocolli (the original called for bell pepper but I didn’t have any)
  • 1/2 red onion chopped
  • 6 mushrooms chopped (or more to taste)
  • 2 cups cooked brown rice
  • 1 can black beans (14 oz can)
  • 2-3 diced tomatoes
  • 1 can green enchilada sauce
  • 1 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
  • roasted Poblano chilis, chopped (about 3)
  • roasted Serrano chilis, chopped (if you like the heat and as many as you like, or Jalapeno etc)
  • taco seasoning (I make my own which I will share at the end)
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese
  • avocado, cilantro, salsa etc for garnish

My taco seasoning uses chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, black pepper, oregano & cayenne pepper in varying proportions. I don’t measure I just kinda eye it so I’ve written it in the order I use from most to least, you can taste it or just smell it!  Oh and salt.

Saute the onion, brocolli, onion & mushrooms in about 1 Tb olive oil.

Add the ground turkey and cook until browned. Add the taco seasoning, the roasted chilis and add the enchilada sauce.  Remove from heat and add the rice, the black beans and the tomatoes.

Preheat the oven to 350.  Add the Greek yogurt to the mixture and combine everything really well.  Transfer it all to a 9 X 13 baking dish and sprinkle with cheese.  Cover with foil and bake for about 25-30 minutes.  You can uncover the dish for the last 5 minutes or so to brown the cheese a bit.

Makes about 4 servings depending on the people. I had about a cup to a cup and a half for a serving and Jason had double servings (as usual!). There was enough left for both of us to eat some for lunch.  I would say it could serve 6-8 people who don’t eat seconds and thirds!  Garnish with avocado slices, cilantro, Greek yogurt instead of sour cream, salsa etc.

 

