Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I love roasted peppers and look for any reason to toss them into a recipe.  If you’ve never roasted a pepper you really should try it. It adds a smoky flavor to a dish. I roast all kinds, hot, mild, bell, I’ve even been known to roast a tomato.  And tomatillos, if you’re making a green enchilada sauce, you must roast them first.  After I bought a big handfull of assorted peppers and roasted them I knew I would have to make soft tacos with them!

The process….wash the peppers and place them on tinfoil, you can cover a baking sheet with foil or do as I do and just put the foil straight onto the rack in your oven.  No need to put any oil on the pepper like you do when you roast other vegetables, turn the oven on broil and keep an eye on the peppers.  You’ll notice that the pepper skin starts to blister and even turn black, this is exactly what you want.  Turn them to the other side so that all sides get really dark.  Pull the peppers out and place them in a plastic bag for at least 5 minutes. Somehow this helps in removing the skin.  Then you just peel the skin off and pull out the inside seeds. Done!

I had some leeks so I decided to use them instead of onion.  I browned the leeks and some chopped garlic in about 1 1/2 T of coconut oil. I then added chicken that I had marinated for hours in lemon juice, chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, cayenne, oregano and salt & pepper.  I cooked that until the chicken was done and then I added a bit more of the above spices and the chopped peppers. It smelled so good.

I served it on whole wheat tortillas with black beans, tomatoes, avocado and cilantro. Quick and easy and yes, clean!

For those of you who have been following this blog and the changes that have occured, I am still on the Body for Life 12 week challenge and am starting week 7.  I’ve lost about 5 pounds but more importantly, I’ve dropped 4% bodyfat!!!  4% of my body has changed from fat to muscle!  To me that’s more important than the number on the scale because muscle looks better than fat, takes up less room than fat and burns calories even when resting.  All fabulous reasons to get out there and move and make some muscle.

 

