Tags

, , , , , ,

I had the most wonderful dinner and I wanted to share it. Unfortunately I only got a picture at the very end but you don’t really need pictures of chicken and peas in the raw do you?!

So I go to mealsandmovesblog alot for clean eating ideas. Thanks Janetha!  I don’t feel like I have the whole thing down yet but I’m getting there and I’m starting to improvise a bit so I based this dinner on hers with just a few little tweaks to make it my own.  I’m still eating clean and doing the Body For Life 12 week challenge, I ma lmost done with week 3. I’ve been going to the gym 5 days a week (6:30 AM anyone?) and I actually love working out. I’m even learning to love cardio because really I’m only doing 20 minutes!  High intensity minutes but still….on to the recipe!

Ingredients

  • 12 oz skinless chicken breasts cut into small cubes
  • 1 red onion diced small
  • 3-4 garlic cloves (to taste)
  • 2 cups of frozen peas (steaming first makes it all cook faster)
  • 1 c chicken broth
  • 1/2 c white wine
  • 2Tb whole wheat flour
  • 1 Tb dijon mustard
  • 1 Tb dried thyme
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 cup lowfat milk
  • 1/4 cup shredded parmesan cheese
  • salt/pepper

In a large skillet heat about 1 Tb olive oil over med and add chicken. Salt & pepper and sear on both sides. Add onion & garlic and saute for about 5 mins.  Sprinkle with flour and stir (the flour will help the sauce to thicken up later).  Add the white wine, then the chicken stock, thyme, balsamic and mustard.  Simmer until liquid is reduced by about half (or more). Remove from heat and add milk & parmesan.  Taste and add more salt/pepper if needed.  I served this over brown rice but you can also use whole wheat noodles, quinoa or whatever whole grain you prefer.

On to the pictures!  I had cleaned my plate by the time I realized that I really enjoyed this and wanted to share!

That’s how good it was!

Luckily there was enough for seconds and Jason allowed me to take a picture before he ate his next plateful.

It’s been a fun journey so far. I’ll be posting more of the interesting “clean” recipes I’ve been making soon.  Meat muffins anyone?!  They sound horrid but they are wonderful.  I’ll tempt you with the thought of chicken, apples and rosemary….yum.

 

