Tags

, , , , , ,

So it’s after Thanksgiving and I need something healthy.  Scones, oh yeah that’s super healthy, but these have carrots, oats and coconut in the ingredients (this is the arguement in my head). So guess which arguement won? On to the scone recipe then…

I have been going to the library and checking out cookbooks.  This has been a wonderful practice except for one thing. I end up wanting to purchase almost every book I check out!  I found the carrot coconut scone recipe in Baked Explorations by Matt Lewis & Renato Poliafito. These two opened a bakery shop in Brooklyn and this is their second cookbook (I’m looking for the first next time).

Now I have a problem with not completely reading the recipe and getting familiar with it so I did do things a bit differently than what was written. But they turned out well so if you decide to make these, it’s up to you. My way or the correct way!

Ingredients

  • 2 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats (I used Quaker oats in the round tub, don’t know if they are rolled or not)
  • 1 Tb baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup shredded, sweetened coconut
  • 1/2 cup butter (1 stick)
  • 1 large egg
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk (I didn’t have it so I added 1 1/2 tsp vinegar to the milk)
  • 1 Tb vanilla (next time I will use less so the other flavors come through more)
  • 1/4 cup puree carrot
  • 1 egg white beaten

Preheat oven to 400.  Mix the flour, sugar, oats, baking powder, salt & coconut together.  Make sure your butter is still cold and cut into pieces, add to the flour mix and rub in with your fingers until the butter is pea sized and mix is coarse (You can use a pastry cutter or fork too).  This is a technique that is used for pie crusts and other pastry too. Once you do it a few times you will know when to stop.

In another bowl mix together the egg, buttermilk, vanilla & carrot.  (This is where I made the mistake, I saw the egg white so I beat it and added it here, it’s actually for a wash later, but it didn’t seem to adversly affect anything).  Slowly pour the wet ingredients into the dry and stir until barely combined. Knead briefly with your hands, it will be sticky, add some flour.  The directions then said to roll out the dough and flatten it to 1 3/4 inches and then cut into 6-8 wedges & put onto a baking sheet prepared with parchment paper or a silicone mat.  I don’t think this step is necessary but it does make the scones look pretty.  If you just plop onto the sheet, make sure you press them down a little so they will cook evenly.  Now here is where you do use the egg white (I skipped this step)  Whisk the egg white with 1 Tb water and brush the tops of the scones with the mix.  Bake for 18-20 mins. My oven is hotter in the back so I always turn my sheet halfway through.  It took 18 mins in my oven. Do not overbake.

Straight out of the oven.

Now wait!  They are not done yet.  There is a citrus glaze!
  • 1 Tb lemon juice
  • 2 Tbl orange juice
  • 1 cup powdered sugar

Whisk all the ingredients together.  I did not have orange juice so I used 3 Tb lemon juice.  Drizzle over the scones when cool and then eat up!

I had to eat them still warm!

Oh, carrot puree.  Cut up about 2 med carrots, put in a bowl with either orange juice or lemon juice with a tiny sprinkle of sugar and microwave for a few minutes until you can puree them.  You could also probably use a jar of carrot babyfood.
