Tags

, , , , , ,

I came across a recipe for the Apfepfannkuchen which is a German Apple pancake type thing.  But I didn’t really trust the site where I came across it because the last thing i made from her site was not very good and because she had baking powder in the batter and wanted it to sit for up to an hour.  Now if you know anything about baking and baking powder, you have to use it pretty quickly otherwise the leavening effect of the baking powder goes away.  So I researched some more. Ugg…. Every recipe was a little different.  I decided to just combine a few things and use my own knowledge. To explain.  My mom gave me a recipe for a Bismark.  which is an AMAZING souffle type pancake.  Made in an iron skillet in the oven.  That’s what this apple thing basically was.  So this is what I did and it turned out pretty well.

Put about 3-4 Tb of butter in a hot skillet on the stovetop, med heat.  Slice apples thinly and place them in the skillet.  Add about 1/3 c of brown sugar, sprinkle cinnamon, allspice, pepper & salt over and let it cook until apples are soft.  Preheat oven to 475. Meanwhile whisk together 1 cup flour, 1 cup milk and two eggs.  Pour the batter over the apple mixture and put in the oven.  Cook for 12 minutes.  The batter will puff up and it will get cripsy on the edges and sugary on the bottom!

The start.

Add the batter and pop in the oven

It iwll look like this!

Et viola! Eat it up!

