Tags

, , , , , ,

I love Shepard’s pie but I really don’t like the name. How’s Shepard’s frolic?  Or frolicking Shepards?  I think that must be what they do when they hear what is for dinner…I know I do.  To Frolic…I picture people wiggling and jumping in sheer delight.  AND it’s so easy to make, really and truly.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound ground lamb (try the lamb, it’s super good but if you just can’t then beef will do)
  • 1 chopped onion
  • 2 chopped carrots
  • 1 tb tomato paste
  • 1 tb flour
  • 1 1/2 tb worcestershire sauce (I can NEVER say that) or I used some amino sauce, you can use soy as well
  • 1/2 tsp dijon style mustard
  • 1 cup water
  • frozen peas (lots!) about 2/3 package or more

The topping:

  • Potatoes (about 5-6 med russet) peeled & cut into pieces
  • 1 cup milk
  • 6-8 TB butter

If you want to make this even easier just use mashed potatos from a tub, or even the instant powder ones I suppose.

Turn the oven on to 425. Cook the lamb on med high until the pink is gone and it’s a bit browned.  Transfer to a colander and drain the fat off.  In the same pan add about 1/4 cup water, turn the heat to med and cook the onions & carrots until soft.  Add the tomato paste & flour and stir until combined, add the worcestershire sauce. Put the lamb back in and add the water, cook until thickened, and add the peas, salt & papper.

Meanwhile, cover the potatos with water, heat to boiling and then simmer until the potatos are fork soft.  Drain off the water, put the milk and butter in the cooking pot and heat to simmering, add the potatos and mash. Salt and pepper to your taste.

Put the lamb mix in a 9 inch deep pie dish or similar type pan or you could put in individual ramekins too. Cover with the mashed potatos and put in the oven for 20-25 mins, the potatos may get brown on top and that is ok.

Pre-oven

I swear I need a better camera! I’ve seen some blogs with amazing pictures, and they must have amazing cameras.  And lighting!
Luckily, I got a picture before it was all eaten up.

Yum!

