Tags

, , , , , ,

This is a cheese pumpkin!

Start the Brulee

I went to Central Market and they had a display of Cheese Pumpkins! Well what is that I wondered?  Kinda sounds disgusting…but the sign read, creamy and makes good soups or pie.  So I decided to try it.  When I cut it open it had the most amazing sweet smell, almost like a cantalope. I roasted it cut side down for about an hour and it released alot of liquid, alot.

Decisions, decisions, pie or pumpkin creme brulee?  Well I’ve never made a brulee so…decision made!
Recipe as follows:
3 egg yolks
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup cream
1 cup pumpkin
spices of your choice (I chose 5 spice, cinnamon and nutmeg)
salt
Mix it all up, pour into the ramekin (big or small individual).  Put the ramekin into a baking dish and pour hot water until it comes up halfway up the outside of the ramekin.  You have to let it cool after it’s finished baking for about 4 hours in the fridge. Then comes the fun part, sprinkle the top with sugar, preferably brown cane and use a good amount.  Then Brulee the top with a blow torch!  You want it to get brown and even a little burnt over parts.  It will harden into a candy shell of deliciousness with creamy goodness inside!  You can either eat it warm (the torch warms it up) or put it back in the fridge for a bit. I prefer warm, that way there’s no more waiting!
