Tags

, , , , , , ,

My sourdough obsession is getting out of hand. Actually I suppose “wild yeast” is the correct term. I will be writing a more extensive post on this later on when I have more time….much more time. Here’s the quick version.  To make a wild yeast starter, for making artisan bread, you must let flour and water sit and gather yeast, the yeast must grow and then the yeast must be fed.  When you feed it you discard about half…at each feeding.  Wasteful.  There must be some use for this discarded yeast right?  Of COURSE there is.

The Wild Yeast!

Make sourdough dog biscuits!!!!   Brilliant! My dogs will love it.  They, like me, love food.  I suppose I should introduce the dogs now.

There’s Sikander , which is what the Persians called Alexander the Great…and that’s who he thinks he is.

Sikander the great

  And of course Lola, the adorable goof with a block head and
  a big butt.

Her name was Lola, she was a showgirl.

Sourdough Dog Biscuits
170 g whole wheat flour
114 g all purpose flour
279 g mature sourdough starter (wild yeasties)
87 g water or broth
22 g what germ (I didn’t have any so I used ground flax seed meal)
43 g corn meal
22 g veg oil
1 cube bullion (unless you used broth above)
1 egg beaten to brush on top
Combine all the ingredients, except the egg, in your mixer and then mix on medium speed for about 4 mins.  The dough will be pretty dense.
Turn it out onto a floured surface and work it into a ball, then cover with plastic wrap and let it sit for two hours.
Preheat oven to 400.  Cut the dough into two pieces and now you can either roll it out and use a cookie cutter or roll it into a log and cut pieces (this is what I did since I don’t have any cookie cutters…and my dogs don’t mind that their biscuits are not bone shaped).  Put them on a parchment lined cookie sheet and brush them with the beaten egg.  Bake for about 30 mins.
Let them cool down and then store them in an airtight container or a plastic baggie.  Remember, these have no preservatives so they will go bad and grow mold eventually.  If you don’t feed your dog treats often you can always put them in the freezer.  I thought about other ways to tweak this recipe. You could add peanut butter, jars of meat baby food, bacon crumbles?  I guess it’s just something to play around with and see what your dog likes.
P.S. People can eat these too by the way.  I just don’t particularly enjoy beef broth flavored biscuits…and these are rather hard.

Dog's delight!

