Tags

, , , , , , ,

A few months ago I saw a recipe by Alan of TravellingFoodies for a Pandan Chiffon cake and I knew I had to make it.  I had recently come across the pandan flavor in a cookie, but there the flavor was called screw-pine…and I loved it.  It’s taken me this long to finally make it!   Now if you’ve been reading along with me you will know that I recently started a new way of eating which does NOT include alot of cake. Fortunately I picked a way that allows one “free” day a week where you can eat ANYTHING you want. (Love it!)  The rest of the time you eat really “clean” with a balance of protien to carb to fat (40-40-20 if you really want to know….yawn…..boring).

The most important ingredients!

Now Alan uses fresh pandan leaves to start out with, but I don’t have easy access to that, so these little bottles will have to do.  You can check his site in the link above if you’d like to use that method which is probably better. So we start off by creaming together:

  • 4 egg yolks
  • 50g superfine sugar (caster sugar)

Cream until the yolks get pale and creamy.

Like this.

Then add:

  •  60 g of vegetable oil
  • 100 g coconut cream
  • 3 Tb pandan essence
  • 1T pandan paste
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Combine well and then add in 130 g cake flour and 1 tsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp salt.

Now we make a meringue using:

  • 6 egg whites
  • 60g of superfine sugar (caster sugar)
  • 1/2 tsp cream of tartar

Whisk until stiff peaks are just obtained (I think I went too far).

Don’t beat to this stage.

Fold 1/3 of the meringue into the pandan mixture until well combined, then add in the rest of the meringue in two parts folding gently. Because I beat the merengue too much I had to fold more vigorously to make sure there were no clumps of egg white. You want to keep as much of the meringue texture and air as you can.

Pour into a tube pan, rap the pan against the counter to remove any trapped air bubbles and bake in a preheated oven at 350F for about 40 mins.  Immediately invert the pan to cool.

Thanks Alan!  Mine didn’t turn out as pretty as yours but it tasted wonderful.

What else did I get to eat on my free day?  Well pancakes and burgers and mac and cheese!  Oh and chocolate of course!