Tags

, , , ,

What is this?  What am I doing adding protein powder to a muffin?!  Is this sacrilege?  Well, yes and no I would say.  I’ve been entering the whole new world (for me) of clean eating.  What does this mean?  It means I’m on a diet….I hate and despise that word….I’m on a new way of life!  that sounds much better and less sacrificial. I’ve posted about having gained weight recently and I just can’t stand it anymore.  I’m in my 40s and I refuse to accept that this is just what happens when you get older.  I don’t believe it.  I’ve seen women my age who look fantastic and I want to join their ranks.  Vain? Ok, you can call me that but why not look as good as you can for as long as you can?  But what about baking?!  and my sweet tooth?  Well I’ve discovered that there are some recipes out there that will fulfill my needs and that I can still play around with.  I found a great blog by someone named Janetha , she has tons of recipes on her blog, mealsandmovesblog.com,  which have the combination of protein, carbs and fats that I’m trying to follow.  I adapted one of her muffin recipes to make the following:

Pumpkin Pistacio Protein muffins

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup ground pistachios
  • 1/2 cup protein powder (I use a whey powder)
  • 3/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1 cup pumpkin
  • 2 Tb applesauce
  • 3 TB honey
  • 1 TB baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp powdered ginger
  • 1/4 tsp ground clove

Preheat the oven to 375 F. Combine the dry ingredients in one bowl. Whisk the egg whites and add the wet ingredients to them.  Add the wet to the dry and just combine. Grease 12 muffin tins or use silicon. Bake for about 20-25 mins depending on your oven.

Pumpkin, Pistachio, Protein muffins!

How do they taste you might ask?  Well in the middle of a “clean” diet, they are not too bad!  Not super sweet but these were moist, and tasty and definitely hit that sweet spot so I will stay motivated.  I will keep posting on my progress for anyone who is interested.

