Tags

, , , , , , ,

I don’t know about you but I really like the small, yellow mangos.  Sometimes I’ve seen them called Champagne mangos.  They are smaller than the regular green/red mangos and they are always a bright yellow!  When I see them in the market I always pick them up because they are not always available.  We usually just eat them fresh but, I got a cute little book at a second hand store called Scones, Muffins, Tea Cakes and it has some really nice recipes in it.  I’ve made a few things out of it and they always turn out well.  In fact I think these scones came from the same book.

Anyway I was reading the book and various recipes caught my attention but the Mango and Crystallized Ginger Quick Bread was the one that sounded just right.

You can use any kind of mango you enjoy, make sure you have enough to make 1 cup of puree.  I used 4 of the yellow ones and I got over a cup.  Also it asks for 1/2 cup of crystallized ginger.  The stuff I had was powerful and I was worried it would be too much but it was PERFECT!  So if your ginger bites, don’t worry it won’t be overpowering.

Ingredients

  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup fresh mango puree
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup (3 oz) diced crystallized ginger

Preheat the oven to 350F . Butter a 9 x 5 inch loaf pan.

Puree the mango and set aside.  In a bowl beat the butter and sugar until well blended. Add the eggs one at a time and beat until creamy.  Add the mango puree.  The mixture will look separated but it will come back together so don’t worry!

It will come back together!

In a separate bowl combine flour, baking soda and salt. Stir the dry ingredients into the wet and do not overmix.  Gently fold in the crystallized ginger. Pour the batter into the loaf pan and bake for about an hour. The cake will be golden brown and feel firm if you press with your fingertips. Cool for 15 mins in the pan and then transfer to cooling rack.

The smells coming from the oven were heavenly.

This quick bread was so moist and delicious. There were plenty of ginger chunks throughout and their bite was gone!  I couldn’t really taste the mango as a definite flavor. I think it added moistness and the sweetness tempered the ginger. I took some to work and I’ve already been asked for the recipe. I will be making this one again!

