Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Just made this tonight and it is fantastic! Did it in my slow cooker and had to use canned hominy.  I roasted half of the tomatillos while roasting the chilis because I like that smoky flavor.

Oh so good and Oh so easy! I even have some leftover for tomorrow and I can tell the flavor will be even better then, it will funkyfy I call it!

Back Road Journal

How about a nice steaming bowl of pozole verde? Haven’t heard of it…what if I said pork and hominy stew with green chilies. This traditional dish is the comfort food of Mexico. There are many varieties of pozole using different meats but the classic is made with pork. Their color comes from the different chilies which are used and will be called white, red or green pozole, which happens to be the colors in  the Mexican flag.

Throughout the state of Guerrero in the southwest part of Mexico bordering the Pacific, every Thursday the locals sit down at pozolerias where all they serve is this dish. I just had to try something that famous. I can tell you that I could definitely eat pozole once a week also, it is that good.

Pozole Verde ( Pork and Hominy Stew With Green Chilies)

The word pozole actually means hominy in…

View original post 443 more words

