Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The wild yeast starter obsession continues …I recently discovered you can make crepes with the discarded starter!  Crepes….I adore crepes….filled with pretty much anything I can think of. Nutella being the most obvious and the one I decided not to use this time around.  Mostly because my jar of Nutella is almost empty and I’m too lazy to go to the store on a Saturday morning!

Lazy dogs

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
So this actually starts the night before.  Take 3/4 cup of the sourdough starter (before you refresh it) add one cup warm water and 1 1/4 c flour. Mix together, cover and let sit for 8-12 hours.  It will be bubbly.
 
 
In the morning, beat 2 eggs (at room temp) with 3 tablespoons of vegetable oil and then add to the batter.  Mix together 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp baking soda and 1 Tb sugar. Sprinkle onto the batter, stir, cover and let sit for at least 15 mins. Original recipe here
To make the crepes you can use a variety of pans, it’s really personal preference. I know some people say you must use a crepe pan but I’ve used many different types of pans and found they all work once you find the right temperature for each one.  I currently use a cast iron skillet for pretty much everything, so that is what I used for this!  I heated it up on med until drops of water sprinkled on it sizzled and evaporated. I then wiped it with a paper towel with some veg oil on it and turned it down one notch.

thin layer of batter

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The batter has to be thin enough to spread on the bottom of the pan fairly easily. If it’s too thick just add a little bit of warm water until you get the right consistency.  I pour some batter into the pan and then pick it up and swirl it around to coat the bottom.  Flip it over once the bottom is light brown, it cooks very quickly.
  
The thing I love about crepes is that you can fill them with pretty much anything! Sweet or savory.  We had shrimp salad, made with scallions, fennel seed and celery seed, ham & cheese, ham & mango, plain mango and Meyer lemon with powdered sugar (my favorite).  You can also store left over crepes (unfilled) in the refrigerator and heat them up in the microwave and then fill….but….I had no leftovers! We ate them all!!!!! 

Some choices.

 
I’ve heard of some amazing fillings, like:  Roasted garlic with brie; Peaches or apples with vanilla ice cream,; poached pears with chocolate syrup; blueberries & cream; asparagus, ham & gruyere; curry chicken or curried vegetables; hummus, sweet potato and spinach; potato,eggs, cheddar cheese & roasted peppers. It’s really limited only by your imagination.  You can also add herbs, mustard, cinnamon or vanilla etc to the batter itself!

shrimp filled crepe.

 
 I would love to hear what you use to fill a crepe! 
 
 
 
