Tags

, , , , , , , ,

My little dumplings

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
They caught me the instant I walked into the supermarket.  Meyer lemons I squealed! (yes unfortunately I did let out a squeal)  J. grabbed a bag without my even asking, he is quite aware of my Meyer lemon obssession.  I had no idea they were available.  If you have never had one you just must.  When they are available I use them constantly, fish, chicken, I slice them thinly and bake them with the dish and then eat them up.  You can eat the peel and all.  And desserts….oh desserts.
 
I had been considering an orange, blueberry, almond recipe from the cookbook “Baked, new frontier in baking” by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito.  I really enjoy their cookbooks.  Anyway better than orange would be Meyer lemon muffins! 

MMMMMMMMMMMMeyer!

 
      Just my luck that it snowed
      today so I got to stay home
      and bake the muffins!
      I changed a few things
      besides adding the Meyers.
      I added more ground
      almond and almond extract.
      J said these were the best
      muffins he’s ever had. 
      He doesn’t care for cakes
      and muffins that much so
      it said alot.  I will be making
      these again!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
zest of 1 Meyer lemon
1/2 cup fresh orange juice, next time I will try lemon juice (Meyer of course)
1/2 c milk
2 egg whties
4 Tb melted butter (let cool)
1/2 tsp almond extract
 
Whip the above ingredients together.  In a separate bowl mix together:
 
1/2 c ground almonds
2 c flour
3/4 c sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp soda
1/2 tsp salt
 
Add the wet ingredients to the dry until just combined.  Add 3/4 c blueberries to the batter.  If you are using frozen blueberries, rinse well and toss with flour.   Preheat the oven to 375 and grease 12 muffin tins.  Fill the tins 3/4 with batter and decorate the top with sliced almonds if you want.  Bake for 15-20 minutes until golden and a toothpick comes out clean.  Let cool in the pan for 15 mins and then remove to a wire rack.
 

Lovely flavor.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Now I’m off to make lemon curd!  Meyer lemon curd that is!  And then…I’ve heard that you can grow citrus trees inside……
