Tags

, , , , , , ,

Monkey Bubble Bread!!!

Doesn’t that look amazing?  It smells wonderful while it’s baking too.  So, as you may have noticed I’ve been on a baking spree.  There’s even some things I’ve made that I haven’t posted because I forget to take pictures!  I found this in a cookbook, Baked Explorations by Matt Lewis & Renato Poliafito, which I highly, highly recommend.  I remember seeing this type of bread when I was younger but I forgot about it so when I saw it in their book, well it had to be made. I and a bunch of my friends, are glad I did!  I’ve decided to bake for other people now because I’m having to up my gym time to 5 days a week to keep up with the baking and it’s a losing battle. So….bake for others!  I’m probably gonna break down and have to start bringing baked goods to work too.
Anyway….on to the recipe. You REALLY should try this cause it just looks so damn cool and when you walk in carrying this, everyone wants to know what, how etc.  A definite friend impresser….if you’re into that type of thing….and really who’s not?
So here we go again, this is a yeasted bread.  Start with 1 1/4 cup of milk at room temperature, and add an envelope of instant yeast (the kind you get from the supermarket), whisk it in really well and let it sit for at least 10 minutes.  Then in a separate bowl mix together 4 cups flour, 5 Tb sugar, 1 ts salt and then add in 1 beaten egg.  Slowly add the milk/yeast mixture and combine, then add 5 Tb melted butter and start to knead the dough. After you knead the dough to a silky stage, put it in a greased bowl, cover it and let sit for at least an hour, it should double in size.

Let it sit.

Now punch it!

Punch it down and reknead for a few minutes.  Now here I did my famous…I want to go to bed, I don’t want to finish it today and so I wrapped it in plastic and stuck it in the fridge.  FAST FORWARD TO….next day.
Punch down the dough if you left it in the fridge and re-knead, if you did not leave in the fridge, just proceed from here…
Shape the dough into little round balls, about 1 inch or so in diameter.

round dough balls!

Melt a stick of butter in a saucepan. In a seperate bowl combine 1 cup brown sugar and 2 tsp cinnamon.  Dip the balls into the butter and then the sugar/cinnamon mix and then place in a bundt pan.  Make layers. Cover the bundt pan in plastic and let sit for another hour to rise again.

Another brick in the wall

start

After the dough balls are nice and puffy, preheat the oven to 350 and bake for 1/2 hour.  Cool in the pan for 5 minutes and then turn it out on a plate. Best served warm.  You can just pull apart the pieces and eat them!

Done!

