Tags

, , , ,

I never really understood prosciutto. Isn’t that just Italian for bacon?  Listen well…it is not.  Clear enough?  It’s bacon less.  Think bacon that’s slimmer, less salty and the flavor’s been amped up somehow. Plus it costs more.  Try it.

Out of season and still tasty.

I’ve been wanting to try this recipe for pan-roasted pork chops with prosciutto and red grapes, by one of the cute chefs, Tyler Florence.  There’s also Jamie, he’s cute too plus British but I digress.  I figured it’s fall, grapes are out of season so I’ll have to wait.  But there in the market were red grapes!  They looked decent. They weren’t too expensive…I called Jason and directed him to where I thought I had left the recipe and had him read me the rest of the ingredients. Proscuitto?  I’ve never used that, let’s give it a go.
I will write out the recipe as written and tell you what I did differently which wasn’t too much this time. I Controlled Myself.
2 quarts water
1/4 c sugar
1/4 c salt
4 sprigs thyme
2 whole cloves
6 allspice berries
4 bone in pork chops (about 1 1/2 inch thick)
olive oil
1 pound red grapes
black pepper
8 slices (3 oz) prosciutto
1/2 cup chicken broth
4 Tb butter
parsley

It is really good and usually isn't cooked.

First you brine the pork chops. I had two so I only used 1 qt water, 1/8 c sugar, 1/8 c salt but kept the amount of clove & allspice the same because I really like the taste of those. I forgot the thyme by mistake.  You put all that in a ziplock bag with the pork chops and then into the fridge for at least 30 mins.  Preheat the oven to 425, heat about 2 Tb oil in an iron skillet if you have one, (if you don’t then any skillet that can go into the oven) take out the pork chops and pat dry with a paper towel, add to the skillet.  I fished out the clove & allspice and added those to the skillet too. Oh and I sprinkled some crumbled thyme on the pork chops.  Cook for about 5 mins until pork chops are golden.  Add the grapes to the pan, drizzle with a little bit of oil and salt & pepper.  Put the skillet in the preheated oven until the chops are done (internal temp of 160) about 10 mins.

I love my iron skillet, I really do.

Remove from oven and place Prosciutto on a roasting tray or cookie sheet and roast for 13 mins until crispy.  Remove the pork & grapes from the skillet, add any grease from the Proscuitto, add chicken broth and whisk in the butter to thicken.  I didn’t add but 1/4 c if that of chicken broth as my pork chops and the grapes released enough juice.  I whisked it at a simmer for a few minutes, tasted & added some salt & pepper.

So tasty! Fat adds flavor!

