Tags

, , , , ,

Actually it’s not the pecan pie that’s mad, it’s meeee lately. I’ve been baking waaaay too much for my belly.  I don’t know if hitting the gym three times a week is gonna cut it anymore, I might have to go for four, or maybe six! I absolutely draw the line at six though,  a person must stand strong and uphold their beliefs after all.

We’re having a pre-Thanksgiving potluck at my work and I volunteered to make pecan pie. It was my Dad’s favorite and I made it for him often.  Wait a minute, he SAID it was his favorite but looking back with adult eyes it might have been because I made it….hmmm….I’m just not gonna go there.  Like I was saying, it was my Dad’s favorite and since he died I don’t think I’ve made it again. It’s been enough time and this pie is in his honor.

Getting fancy with the crust.

Use your favorite pie crust recipe. My favorite is the one Jason makes because then I don’t have to make it!
Oh the recipe!
1/4 cup butter
1/2 cup sugar
1 cup dark corn syrup (if you only have light around add a Tablespoon of Molasses, if you don’t have molasses, go to the store)
3 eggs
salt (about 1/4 tsp)
1 cup pecans
I use a cuisinart and cream the butter & sugar, add the corn syrup & salt until blended, add one egg at a time, blending well. I usually add some pecans and blend those in so there a little bits of pecan in the mix.  Pour into the pie crust and then top with the rest of the pecans.  Bake at 350 for about an hour and 10 mins.  You will know it’s done when an inserted knife comes out clean.
Oh if you want to deepen the flavor add about 2 Tb of bourbon.  I didn’t have any so I left it out.

Circle the pecans

Finished!

And a small one for Jason!  I didn’t want him to smell the pie and not be able to have any.  I remember being a kid and my mom making pans of brownies for the church.  We would be smelling the wonderful aroma of brownies and she would never give us any! It’s for the church she would exclaim, I can’t take a pan with pieces missing.  She never thought of putting them on a plate so no one would know.  I think she is responsible for my and my sister’s love of baking and intense sweet tooth (teeth?).  So even though I resented it at the time, thanks Mom! I honestly mean that.  It also gave me a modicum of self discipline.

Baby tart pie thing

blog hop button December Blog Hop: Holiday Dessert Recipes & Giveaway
