Tags

, ,

Once again, I’m volunteering to make the turkey for Thanksgiving for a few friends.  I found a great recipe a few years ago and it seems fail proof.  Now that is a daring thing to say right before Thanksgiving and I hope the karma gods are not listening.

It’s just this:

1 (12 pound) whole turkey

  •                     6 tablespoons butter
  •                     4 cups warm water – yes 4 (if you use chicken broth forget the bouillon)
  •                     3 tablespoons chicken bouillon
  •                     2 tablespoons dried parsley
  •                     2 tablespoons dried minced onion
  •                     2 tablespoons seasoning salt

Now if you don’t know me, dried minced onion?!  Hell no. Why if there are perfectly good fresh onions available?  We don’t live in some wierd world that doesn’t have fresh onions for God’s sake. Yeah you might cry a little bit (oh that reminds me, if you run the tap with cold water while chopping it reduces the tears, don’t know why) but it’s fresh.  The whole water with chicken boullion thing doesn’t bother me as much, you can use chicken broth, maybe some apple juice if you want, whatever, I’m easy.  I also used poultry seasoning not season salt cause I like the blend that has lots of sage. But again, it’s up to you.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Rinse and wash turkey. Check inside and pull out the bag of giblets do not leave them in the bird. Throw them away or you can add these to pan if these are anyone’s favorites.  Chop up some onion, carrot & apple in big pieces and put them at the bottom of the roasting pan and some inside the turkey if you are not putting stuffing in there. Place turkey in the roasting pan. Separate the skin over the breast to make little pockets. Put 3 tablespoons of the butter on both sides between the skin and breast meat. This makes for very juicy breast meat.

Combine the water with the bouillon, and add the parsley and onion. Pour over the top of the turkey. Sprinkle seasoning salt over the turkey.  Cover with foil and bake in preheated oven for 4 to 5 hours.  For the last 45 minutes or so, remove the foil so the turkey will brown and get crispy.    Definitely make gravy with the juice that’s in the bottom of the pan.

Obviously not my picture!

I’m a purist though. No orange marmelade covered turkey, or bacon wrapped or fried for me. I want turkey with crisp skin and cornbread stuffing.  With the cranberry sauce that comes out looking like the can it was grown in.

Pure silliness now

Is it done yet?

I can’t wait for leftovers….
