Tags

, ,

So I’m looking through blogs and find http://hashcapades.com/ and he has a link to a carnitas recipe (as well as some AMAZING looking hash pictures and recipes and….)  Well I’ve never made carnitas before.  I think lots of my blogs will probably start that way, after all, lots of my life goes that way “I’ve never tried……before”

Carnitas

  • 4-6 pound pork butt or shoulder
  • 1 large onion
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 5-6 chipoltes in adobo (canned)
  • 1 TB ground cumin
  • 1 TB ground coriander
  • 1 TB oregano
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 quarts chicken broth
  • 1 TB salt

Cut the onion & Pork into large chunks, dice the garlic and add all to a big pot.  Add all the other ingredients.  Make sure the pork is covered with the chicken broth, it’s ok to add water.  Bring to a boil then reduce to a low simmer.  Simmer for about 3 hours until most of the liquid is cooked off. Preheat oven to 400F then transfer pork mixture to a foil covered baking sheet and drizzle with oil if needed.  Roast for 10-15 minutes until pork gets a little crispy.  Make your favorite tacos, you can add whatever you want.