Oh my! I’m reading a new cookbook called “Baked Explorations” by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito.  The writer I believe is Matt and I love his writing style.  The recipes are intriguing.  Today being a lazy Sunday, I decided to pick a recipe and make it for breakfast. Don’t feel sorry for Jason, he gets to eat all my experiments and mostly they turn out well. (Except for the seafood Coconut curry that I still can’t figure out what went wrong, it was truly inedible)

So it was a toss up between the Pumpkin Cheddar muffins or the Carrot Coconut scones with citrus glaze.  It was decided by my not having orange juice in the house and being too lazy to go to the store. I did have canned pumpkin.  I did not have sour cream but Greek yoghurt was a reasonable substitute in my lazy, not wanting to go to the store, opinion. I did some research and Greek yoghurt plus a pinch of baking soda is allowed. On to the recipe!

PUMPKIN CHEDDAR MUFFINS

1 cup canned pumpkin (Oops I used the whole 15 oz can!)

3 Tb sour cream (I used 3 Tb Greek yoghurt with pinch of baking soda)

2 large eggs

1/2 c (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted & cooled

2 c flour

1 1/2 ts baking powder

1/4 tsp cayenne (I think next time I’ll add some more)

1 1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 tsp black peper

1/2 c brown sugar

1 1/4 cup grated sharp cheddar (I only had medium)

2 Tb pumpkin seeds (I didn’t have those)

Preheat oven to 400. Spray or butter 12 muffin tins.  Whisk together pumpkin & sour cream, add eggs and butter and whisk until combined.

In a separate bowl combine flour, baking powder, cayenne, salt, pepper and brown sugar. Make a well in the middle and pour in the wet ingredients. Fold until combined and then fold in 3/4 of the cheese.

Divide the batter among the muffin cups, sprinkle the remaining cheese and pumpkin seeds on top. Bake for 20 mins. Cool on rack for 10 mins then remove muffins and cool or eat warm.

I love the word muffin!

They were really good. Peppery, cheesy and warm. They did not seem to be harmed by almost doubling the pumpkin so….maybe next time I’ll use the correct amount of pumpkin…or not.
