Oh Macaron, how I love you. I first discovered these little delicio delights while visiting my sister in Paris. All I knew before was coconut macaroons, which can be delightful as well.  But these were something else altogether, light, crispy, chewy.  Well one day back here I found a book with 30 macaron recipes. For my sister, that was my thought, until I got home and showed Jason and we decided we had to test the recipes out first. I mean, that’s only proper right?  Anyway, Jason picked the flavor of our first ever macaron.  Saffron with Cardamom filling.

The guide. 3/4 c ground almonds ( must be finely ground) 1 c confectioners sugar 2 extra large egg whites 1/4 tsp crushed saffron strands 1/4 c superfine sugar yellow food coloring Filling 4 Tb butter seeds from 4 cardamom pods crushed (I used 1/2 tsp powder) 1 c confectioners sugarProcess the almonds & confectioners sugar in a food processor. Sift into a bowl. In a separate bowl whip the egg whites with saffron until holding soft peaks. Gradually add superfine sugar to make a glossy meringue. Beat in food coloring to make a pale yellow.Using a spatula, fold the almond mix into the meringue one third at a time. When all the ingredients are incorporated continue to cut and fold until it forms a shiny batter with a thick ribbonlike consistency.Pour the batter into a pastry bag with a 1/2 inch plain tip. Pipe small circles onto the baking sheets. Use parchment paper or silicone mat. Tap the baking sheets firmly onto a work surface to remove air bubbles. Let stand at room temp for 30 mins. I did one batch without waiting and one with. I didn't notice much of a difference. Preheat over to 325, bake for 10-15 mins. I did 10. Cool for 10 minutes and remove to rack. Make the filling and sandwich between two cookies.Out of the oven.

  It must have been beginners luck, because I’ve heard these are very tricky to make. They turned out really well  although I must say that when I left them out for 30 mins prior to baking, they cracked more and seemed to slide off their bottoms? I must learn how to pipe a more consistent sized circle as well, I had many different sizes! I also think the filling needs lots of work. It was too buttery and thick.  I’m not sure what but I didn’t like it much. For my debut however, I was pleased with the result.
  More work will have to be done in the lab before the definitive macaron is made.
