Tags

, , , , ,

This summer when I was visiting my sister she made us delicious pancakes made with yogurt.  They were really fluffy and good.  I have a standard multi-grain pancake recipe I use so I thought….why not add yogurt and see how they turn out?  They were so wonderful that I have to share.  The basic recipe can be modified with any grains you like.  I don’t always make them the same way.  I’ve added cooked quinoa, cooked rice, oatmeal etc.  The version I like lately which is below has rice flour which makes them a bit crispier than usual and sesame seeds.  Please try these and definitely try changing up the combination of grains.

Oh so good.

Basic recipe

  • 3/4 c whole wheat flour (I usually keep this as the base but you do whatever you like)
  • 1/4 c corn meal
  • 1/4 c oatmeal
  • 1/4 c mix of rice flour & ground flax seed
  • 1 Tb Sesame seeds
  • 1 – 3 Tb sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 Tb melted butter or oil (coconut oil is tasty)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt

1 tsp vanilla

Mix the dry ingredients together (just remember your grains should equal 1 1/2 cup total). Mix the wet ingredients together.  Add the wet into the dry until combined.  The mixture gets very thick, add milk if needed but the batter should be much thicker than regular pancake batter.   Heat a pan or griddle to a slightly lower temperature than you use for regular pancakes.  Cook until one side is golden, flip and cook until golden.  The batter may still be wet when you flip the first time but it will be ok.

