Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve been on a road trip for the last two weeks!  I went all over California visiting family with family!  A wonderful trip.  What was not so wonderful was some of the eating I did….fast food is so easy on the road and when I was at my sister’s….well she likes eating as much as I do so we went to various restaurants and ate pretty well at home too.  There were a few dishes that she and her husband made for us that I had forgotten about and will have to add to my regular rotation as they are pretty healthy. Nicoise salad anyone?  I had forgotten how delicous that was.  I had also forgotten about the recipe I’m about to share with you.  It’s so healthy, tasty and cool for those hot summer days.  The only thing you have to cook is bacon which you can do ahead.  Yes I did say healthy and bacon in the same paragraph!  I don’t consider bacon to be bad in moderation.  In fact, bacon is damned good!

Bacon improves everything!

I got this recipe from someone at a pot luck. Jason tried it and stated that we must have the recipe.  I only changed one thing to make it healthier, substituting half the mayo with Greek yogurt and reducing the original amount of sugar.  Below is the recipe for Spring Salad… a delightful treat. Ingredients:

  • 6 slices of crispy bacon
  • 2 cups of chopped brocolli
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onions
  • 1 cup red grapes
  • 1 cup green grapes (I use the tiny champagne grapes)
  • sliced almonds (as much as you like)
  • raisins or dried cranberries etc (again as much as you like or leave out)
  • 1/2 cup mayo
  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1 Tb white or rice vinegar
  • 2 Tb sugar
  • 1 Tb honey
  • salt and pepper

Chop all the green vegetables, add the grapes, bacon, nuts if you are using them and raisins.  You can also use chopped apple if you prefer or even some berries although this will change the taste.  The salad is really versatile though so feel free to experiment.  Then mix together the mayo, Greek yogurt, vinegar and sweeteners and pour over the top.  Next time I might use all Greek yogurt but I didn’t want to shock Jason too much this time in case it didn’t work out.  He didn’t notice the substitution at all so I have high hopes!  This salad is best if it sits in the refrigerator for at least an hour to let the flavors blend.

Enjoy!

